Awards Committee report as of May 15, 2020.

The committee prepared and submitted a powerpoint presentation for the April workshops. While the workshops were cancelled, the presentation contains useful information and will be reviewed with new Awards Committee members. It may also be a useful tool to share with clubs.

Due to COVID-19, Zonta International delayed the submission date for the Young Women in Public Affairs Award by one month. The committee adjusted the D4 due date accordingly to provide clubs additional time. The adjusted D4 deadline was May 1. Five applications were received and the committee is in the process of selecting the D4 recipient. The committee is on track to meet the June 1 deadline for submission of the D4 applicant to Zonta International. Due to COVID-19, Zonta International also delayed the submission date for the Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarship. The new D4 due date is August 15. The new Zonta International due date is October 15.

The Women in Technology scholarship was offered one time as pilot program in 2019. The future of the program will be decided at the Zonta International Convention, presumably by the remote voting procedures that are being put in place. T

Succession Planning for Awards Committee membership and leadership is important due to the specific Awards requirements and deadlines, as well as the need for a balanced group of committee members.

In order to have a full committee in time for the awards evaluation cycle (starting with YWPA), all committee members were contacted early in 2020 and invited to continue serving. In addition, new committee members were recruited to join the committee to fill openings. As a result, the committee is appropriately resourced for the upcoming year.

From a leadership perspective, Alyce Van Patten has served as the "lead" co-chair this biennium with Beth Zak in a "protégé" role. It is expected that Alyce will transition to a committee member role at the end of this biennium and Beth will continue as committee co-chair, assuming the "lead" role. Lieutenant Governor Janice Durmis has identified a new co-chair to work with Beth.

Co-Chairs: Alyce Van Patten, Rochester & Beth Zak, Three Rivers Pittsburgh North Committee Members:
Jane Newman, Kitchener-Waterloo
Brenda Ulrich, Lockport
Marnie Piggot, Oakville
Judy Powers, Hamburg-Orchard Park

Thank you, Beth Zak and Alyce Van Patten